The oldest part of ConstanceNiederburg
The picturesque alleys and facades, cosy taverns and restaurants in Constance's oldest quarter provide the perfect backdrop for a relaxed stroll or a fun shopping spree.
The Niederburg quarter begins to the north of the cathedral, and its name – German for lower castle – derives from the area’s location beneath the former Bishop’s Castle on the Rhine. With its many frescoes and handsome patrician town houses, the quarter exudes a particular charm that takes visitors back to a time long forgotten.
Although many of the buildings were destroyed in a fire in 1355, there are still plenty of late-medieval houses to see in Niederburg. The quarter was once home to artisans, fishermen and minor merchants, including bondsmen of the bishop. There are also a number of grander homes that were once the residences of wealthy members of the clergy, and in Kloster Zoffingen the quarter is home to the only remaining convent in the former episcopal town. The Spitalkellerei winery can also be found in Niederburg.
TIP: Guided group tour "Altstadtrundgang...mal anders"